Skip to content
August 18, 2011 / pastrynewbie

Hélène = Elaine in French

Laurent walks into work today and tells me it is Fête de la saint Hélène today. Huh? What kind of  fête is that? Apparently there is something called la fête de la prenom also called “name day” in English. I guess its is a religious thing associated with saints of the past but but apparently, every given name has a day in the calendar. I had never heard of this and was confused as to what they where talking about. Then they showed me the calender….underneath August 18th was St. Hélène. “But hey, that’s not my name!” I said. No one had heard of my name spelt as E-L-A-I-N-E before and it always confuses the French.

On an unrelated note, I was asking Yohann if the markings on the couche (bread cloth) that was indented on the baguette would appear after we bake it and he said no. That’s too bad because if it did, I would try to get a couche with my name on it. Then he suggested we could score my name on the baguette instead. So I scored it and he was confused as to what I was spelling. After it was baked, the other apprentice had a hard time making out what was written even after I said it was my name. (These guys were not part of the earlier discussion.) Anyways, below is the result….. not a very pretty baguette.

The E-L-A-I-N-E baguette

Happy Saint Helene/Elaine day everyone!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

